Views of the Various Leaders of the
Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist)

[Some of Whom are Now Part of the Communist Party of Nepal—Maoist or other Groups]

“In class society the class struggle continues. As long as there are classes and class struggle in the society there exists two line struggle in the party of the proletariat. That’s why in the party there are always different kinds of ideas coming up from different leaders, because the leaders also come from the same society. They make up their ideas from the society and the class struggles. Their way of thinking is different and therefore different kinds of ideas penetrate in the party through different leaders. That’s why different kinds of trends and tendencies come within the party. And there is always struggle among these trends.” Basanta, a leader of the UCPN(M), Interview with WPRM, Oct. 21, 2009.

      Over the past two decades the ongoing revolutionary struggle in Nepal has attracted a lot of attention around the world. However, that struggle has been complex and has gone through several major stages, including a decade of People’s War that liberated 80% of the country and which ended in 2006. A period of electoral and parliamentary struggle began that year, with the UCPN(M) winning the most votes in the Constituent Assembly elections. The Constituent Assembly has been functioning as the interim parliament, and for a brief time the UCPN(M) led the official government of Nepal. But the army and a large part of the government bureaucracy were not actually under the control of that “government”. This led to its collapse, with a coalition of the imperialist-backed bourgeois-feudal parties (the Nepali Congress and UML) replacing it. Beginning on November 1, 2009, the UCPN(M) launched what it called the Jana Andolan-3, a “People’s Movement” followed by a short general strike in 2010—which some viewed as reformist pressure tactics to force a return to a parliamentary government led by the Maoists, and which others viewed as a step toward a full-fledged revolutionary insurrection. Some people view the establishment of a new people’s constitution as the main thing right now, or the integration of a section of the People’s Liberation Army into the Nepal Army and the achievement (somehow) of “civilian supremacy” over the military. Others, including the Communist Party of India (Maoist) [see the web page on the Current Crisis Situation in Nepal], view the critical issue to be which class will really hold state power and advocate rebuilding the revolutionary movement and the people’s war.

      In 2010 the struggle in the party over the way forward between three groups led by Chairman Prachanda and Vice Chairmen Bhattarai and Baidya heated up and broke into public view. As an aid to understanding the contending political lines within the UCPN(M) we gathered together a number of statements, interviews and documents by their proponents. While many of these items are also posted in other places on the Internet, to our knowledge there is no single place where people can go to examine and compare them as a whole. This should be an aid for those interested in seeing the differences in views between the various leaders, and also the development of each leader’s views over time. Please note that we have a separate section for official Party documents and statements issued by the UCPN(M), which have been rare since the end of the People’s War in 2006.

      In June 2012 the more revolutionary faction of the UCPN(M) left that Party and formed a new Party, the Communist Party of Nepal — Maoist (CPN-M). We have a separate page for their Party documents and statements. So the collection of statements of individual leaders below now includes statements from leaders of both Parties.

      Within the section for each UCPN(M) leader, the newest documents are at the top. We have included some news reports which quote various leaders, but readers will naturally need to keep in mind that quoted comments—and even long interviews—in the bourgeois press are not always completely accurate and reliable. If you know of additional articles or interviews which should be posted here, or have any comments or suggestions, please contact us at:

Index of Party Names Index of Real Names
Biplap [or Biplab]

Baidya, Mohan (Mohan Vaidya Pokharel)
Bastola, Dharmendra
Bhattarai, Baburam
Bogati, Post Bahadur
Chanda, Netra Bikram
Chapagain, Ninu
Dahal, Pushpa Kamal
Gajurel, Chandra Prakash
Khanal, Chandra Prakash
Mahara, Krishna Bahadur
Prasad, Kul, KC
Pun, Ganesh Man
Sharma, Anil
Shrestha, Narayan Kaji
Sigdel, Indra Mohan
Thapa, Ram Bahadur
Yami, Hisila


      Due to the repressive legislation and judicial decisions in the United States, we at BANNEDTHOUGHT.NET want to make it completely clear that we do not have any connection whatsoever with the Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist), or with any other party in Nepal or any other country for that matter. We do not aid, promote, assist, support, coordinate with, or provide any sort of services or advice to the UCPN(Maoist) or to any other party. However, we do support the right of free speech, and the right of the people in both Nepal and internationally to read the views and publications of this and all other parties and organizations. For this reason we do object to the de facto suppression of the views and ideas put forward by the UCPN(Maoist), either past or present. And for this reason alone we are making copies of many UCPN(Maoist) documents available on this site, along with those by many of its leaders, critics and other commentators.